Balayage


Capturing Peru’s variety of colours in a soft yarn.

The balayage yarn was the product of the idea to develop a high-quality yarn in accordance with a specific colour concept. We wanted to create colours that provide unlimited creative options and flow harmoniously into one another, almost as if dyed by hand. This gave rise to a yarn that is excellent for shawls but, of course, for any other knitting project too, and is particularly well suited to colour techniques such as jacquard or Fair Isle. A well-known designer and good friend, Melanie Berg, who is known as Mairlynd, contributed to the development of this yarn concept from the beginning. With her instinct for colours and talent for creating appealing colour worlds and our expertise in producing high-quality and exclusive yarns, important key skills are therefore combined in one yarn: Balayage.


Find out more about Melanie Berg:

Interview with Melanie Berg

Mairlynd on Instagram

In order to implement this idea, we initially considered three different yarns at the same time, which vary in terms of their composition and yarn weight. Thanks to the different composition in the fibre quality and colour, we achieved a natural mottled effect, which creates a soft and varied colour effect. Using yarn samples, we thoroughly investigated which of the samples would be able to best achieve the colour effect we wanted. Even the smallest of differences in the composition have a significant effect on the colour that is achieved later. We did not, of course, ignore the feel and yarn quality during this development stage either. A yarn that is primarily intended to be suitable for varied and colourful shawls should not be too fluffy or too smooth. On this basis, we then took a close look at different colours in different combinations. It was important to us to achieve a colour shade that was not too loud and that highlighted colours that go well together with contrast colours. 

It’s all about the yarn! 

Why did we call it Balayage? The term comes from the hairdressing industry and refers to a hair colouring technique in which a particular colour gradient is achieved on the hair. This colour gradient principle embodies the colours of Balayage. Colour groups of four colours are designed to work together and can be combined with colours from the other groups to achieve a contrast. The colours are inspired by the variety of colours in Peru and are named after places in Peru.

The unique nature of the yarn, i.e. the mixture of white organic merino wool fibres with white and grey baby alpaca wool, creates a mottled grey tone (colour 617 Ishinca). The colour gradient effect is supported within the individual threads and very natural colour accents along the lines of hand dyeing techniques.

Balayage is made from 80% baby alpaca and 20% virgin wool, organic merino in extra-fine 21.5 micron, free from mulesing, of course. The ball of wool weighs 1.76 oz (50 g) and measures 190 yds (175 m). Perfect knitting results are achieved with 3 U.S. (3.25 mm ~10 UK) knitting needles.

The wool is produced in a fair and sustainable manner.


The concept of sustainability runs through from the animal fibres to the packaging materials.

The yarn itself is obtained and produced in a continuous process in Peru. In the plateaus of Peru, the alpacas are able to move around freely and are kept in a manner that is appropriate for the species. The animals are shorn with modern machines in order to subject the animals to as little stress as possible. However, sustainability is about more than just species-appropriate farming. The working conditions are fair and great value is placed on a recycling economy in order to protect the environment. This means that the entire process of ultimately processing these wonderful fibres to form yarn is self-contained. For example, the mud that is created when the fibres are washed is used to fertilise the pastures. Care is taken to ensure that energy consumption is made more environmentally friendly by using solar energy and the water that is used is recycled in the recycling system.

Wonderful designs made from Balayage...


Melanie Berg has designed two shawls for the big premiere in January. Whilst the knitting patterns won’t be available until January, here is a little preview for you now:

The Big Easy

Rock My Shawl

Balayage models are also being developed by numerous other designers. Including by:

The respective knitting patterns will be available via Ravelry. We will keep you up-to-date and provide the links for you here. And there will be even more designs over time.

How can you get your hands on Balayage?


It will finally be available from mid-January. The Balayage yarn will premiere at Vogue Knitting Live in New York between 17 and 19 January 2020. Two shawls designed by Melanie Berg will feature at the big premiere.

As of mid-January, the yarn will be available from numerous Pascuali partners and on our online shop. From this point in time, you will be able to find your local Pascuali partner on our map.

Are you a retailer who wishes to stock Balayage?


We are now taking pre-orders so you can secure your delivery in January right away.

  • By email to sales@pascuali.de
  • By telephone to +49 2234 532 88 28

Don’t delay, get in touch! We are also happy to help if you have any questions.

Balayage


Die Farbvielfalt Perus in einem sanften Garn.

Das Garn Balayage entsprang der Idee, ein Garn von hoher Qualität und besonderem Farbkonzept zu entwickeln. Wir wollten Farben kreieren, deren Kombinationsmöglichkeiten keine Grenzen gesetzt sind und harmonisch – ähnlich einer Handfärbung – ineinanderfließend sind. Dies war die Geburt eines Garnes, das sich hervorragend für Tücher, aber natürlich auch für jedes andere Strickprojekt eignet. Vor allem für Farbtechniken wie beispielsweise Jacquard oder Fair Isle eignet es sich. Bei der Entwicklung dieser Garn-Idee hat eine bekannte Designerin und gute Freundin – Melanie Berg alias Mairlynd – von Beginn an mitgewirkt. Mit ihrem Gefühl für Farben und Talent, ansprechende Farbwelten entstehen zu lassen, und unserem Knowhow, qualitativ hochwertige und exklusive Garne zu produzieren, verschmelzen somit wichtige Kernkompetenzen in einem Garn: Balayage.


Erfahre mehr über Melanie Berg:

Interview mit Melanie Berg

Mairlynd on Instagram

Zur Umsetzung dieser Idee überlegten wir uns zunächst gemeinsam drei unterschiedliche Garne, die in ihrer Zusammensetzung und Garnstärke variieren. Durch die unterschiedliche Zusammensetzung in der Faserqualität und verschiedene Farbnuancen gelang uns eine natürliche Melierung, die so eine weiche und facettenreiche Farbwirkung ermöglicht. Anhand von Garnproben untersuchten wir genau, welche der Proben den gewünschten Farbeffekt am besten erzielen könnte. Denn selbst die feinsten Unterschiede in der Zusammensetzung haben einen erheblichen Einfluss auf die spätere Farbwirkung. Selbstverständlich ließen wir in dieser Entwicklungsstufe Haptik und Garnqualität nicht außer Acht. Ein Garn, das sich also vor allem für abwechslungsreiche und farbenprächtige Tücher eignen soll, darf nicht zu flauschig, aber auch nicht zu glatt sein. Auf dieser Basis nahmen wir dann unterschiedliche Farben in unterschiedlichen Kombinationen unter die Lupe. Uns war eine besondere Farbanmutung wichtig, die nicht zu knallig wirkt und untereinander harmonierende Farben kombinierbar mit Kontrastfarben hervorbringt. 

Rein ins Garn!

Wie kommen wir auf den Namen Balayage? Der Begriff kommt aus der Haarstyling Szene und bezeichnet eine Haarfärbetechnik, bei der die Haare einen besonderen Farbverlauf erhalten. Dieses Prinzip des Farbverlaufes verkörpern die Farben von Balayage. Farbgruppen von vier Farben sind passend aufeinander abgestimmt und können als Kontrast mit Farben aus den anderen Gruppen kombiniert werden. Die Farben erinnern an die Farbvielfalt Perus und tragen die Namen peruanischer Orte.

Die Besonderheit des Garns - die Mischung der Fasern von weißer Bio Merinowolle mit weißer und grauer Babyalpakawolle - lässt einen melierten Grauton als Ausgangsfarbe (Farbe 617 Ishinca) entstehen, so dass der Effekt eines Farbverlaufs innerhalb der einzelnen Fäden unterstützt wird und sehr natürliche Farbakzente ähnlich des Handfärbens erzeugt werden.

Balayage besteht zu 80% aus weichem Babyalpaka und zu 20% aus Schurwolle, Bio-Merino in extrafeinen 21,5 Mikron, natürlich mulesingfrei. Mit seinen 175m Lauflänge kommt das Knäuel auf 50g. Es ergibt mit der Nadelstärke 3,25mm verstrickt ein perfektes Strickbild.

Die Produktion, fair und nachhaltig.


Das Konzept der Nachhaltigkeit zieht sich von der Tierfaser bis zum Verpackungsmaterial.

Das Garn selbst wird in einem durchgängigen Prozess in Peru gewonnen und produziert. In den Hochebenen Perus können sich die Alpakas frei bewegen und werden artgerecht gehalten. Die Schur der Tiere wird mit modernen Maschinen so durchgeführt, dass die Tiere so wenig Stress wie möglich ausgesetzt sind. Nachhaltigkeit beinhaltet aber nicht nur eine artgerechte Tierhaltung. Die Arbeitsbedingungen sind fair und es wird viel Wert auf eine kreisläufige Wirtschaft zu Gunsten der Umwelt gelegt. So ist also der gesamte Ablauf, um letztlich diese wundervollen Fasern zu einem Garn verarbeiten zu können, in sich geschlossen. Beispielsweise wird der Schlamm, der während der Waschung der Fasern entsteht, für die Düngung der Weiden eingesetzt. Durch das Einsetzen von Solarenergie wird auf einen umweltfreundlichen Energieverbrauch geachtet und das verwendete Wasser wird im Kreislaufsystem recycelt.

Wundervolle Designs aus Balayage...


Melanie Berg entwirft zur großen Premiere im Januar zwei Tücher. Die Strickanleitungen sind zwar erst im Januar erhältlich, hier habt ihr aber schon einen kleinen Vorgeschmack: 

The Big Easy

Rock My Shawl

Modelle aus Balayage werden auch von zahlreichen anderen Designerinnen und Designern entwickelt. Unter Anderem von:

Die jeweiligen Strickanleitungen werden über Ravelry erhältlich sein. Wir werden euch auf dem Laufenden halten und euch hier die Links bereitstellen. Und, es wird noch mehr Designs mit der Zeit geben.

Wie kommt Balayage zu Dir?


Ab Mitte Januar ist es endlich erhältlich. Das Garn Balayage wird auf der Vogue Knitting Live vom 17.-19. Januar 2020 in New York veröffentlicht. Zur großen Premiere werden zwei Tücher von Melanie Berg aus dem neuen Garn erscheinen.

Ab Januar ist das Garn bei zahlreichen Pascuali-Partnern und in unserem Webshop erhältlich. Ab dann kannst Du auch auf unserer Karte Deinen Pascuali-Partner in Deiner Nähe finden.

Bist Du Händler und möchtest Balayage im Sortiment aufnehmen?


Ab sofort nehmen wir Vorbestellungen an, somit kannst du Dir die Lieferung im Januar sichern. 

  • Per E-Mail an sales@pascuali.de
  • Per Telefon an +49 2234 532 88 28

Zögere nicht, melde Dich! Wir helfen Dir auch gerne weiter, solltest Du noch Fragen haben.